How much is a mole in chemistry?

A mole is 6.02 times 10 to the 23rd atoms. When you have a chunk of an element with that many atoms, the weight of that chunk, in grams, is equal to the atomic weight of the element.

---

A mole is equal to the number of grams of a molecule divided by the formula weight (FW) of the molecule. For example, FW of H2O = 18. If you have 30 g of H2O, then the #mol = 30/18 = 1.67