What is vietnam mean?

Vietnam is a Southeast Asian country, to the east of Laos & Cambodia. “Vietnam” is a combination of two Vietnamese words, “Viet” in ancient Vietnamese language meaning preeminent or descendants of a dragon soaring to the sun, “Nam” means of the southern territory.