What is the original meaning of witch?

The name witch comes from the middle English wicche, and from Old English wiċċe meaning "sorceress” which were derived from wiċċian or "to practice sorcery”. The name has been handed down since early Roman times as a female sorcerers who practices Wicca or is a Wiccan.