What was the first bobblehead?

The actual, first bobblehead was made in Germany, but the first bobblehead reference can be found in a Russian short story, "The Overcoat" by Gogol.In it, one of the characters is described to look like a bobblehead. The bobblehead first went into production between the late 1700s and early 1800s.