How fast does a helicopter go?

An average helicopter can reach a top speed of somewhere between 130 and 140 knots, which comes out to about 160 mph. The Eurocopter X3, the world's fastest copter, can reach a top speed somewhere in the neighborhood of 267 mph (430 km/hr) in stable and level flight.