What's the definition of cord?

One cord of wood is a stack of cut wood measuring approximately four feet high, four feet deep and eight feet long. The length of the pieces can vary but are commonly 16 or 24 inches long.

---

A standard, full cord of wood is a volume of 128 cubic feet, measured as a pile 8 feet long, 4 feet high and 4 feet wide.