How do you deep pit olives?

Put an olive on a cutting board. Place the flat side of a large knife, such as a chef's knife, over the olive. With the heel of your hand, press down firmly until you feel the olive give. The flesh should have flattened and broken around the pit. Use your fingers to separate the pit from the meat.