What happened at pearl harbor on december seventh nineteen forty one?

On December 7th, 1941 a surprise military strike by the Imperial Japanese Navy Air Service occurred upon the United States against the naval base at Pearl Harbor in Honolulu, Hawaii. 2,403 Americans were killed and 1,178 others were wounded. Japanese losses were light: with 64 servicemen killed.