What was the first soda invented?

Although several brands claim that their soda is older, Schweppes is widely considered the oldest soda in the world. The company’s founder, Johann Jacob Schweppe was the first person to manufacture and sell carbonated mineral water. Schweppes founded his company in Geneva in 1783.