Can i substitute oil for butter?

That depends on what you're using the butter in. In baked goods, yes, sometimes. In pie crust or flaky pastry, no. In sauces--maybe and maybe not. You'll have to try various recipes to see if it makes a difference. If you need solid butter, oil isn't your best choice, but you may use lard.