Where do ferrets come from?

The origin of the domestic ferret is Europe or Africa. It was first domesticated over 3000 years ago, although there are said to be pictures of ferrets helping people in Egypt from around 4000 B.C. Ferrets were first brought to the United States about 300 years ago.