What causes fingernails to split?

Onychoschizia or nail splitting can be caused by frequent wetting & drying of the hands, It can be caused by nail cosmetics, exposure to chemicals, injury, medical problems like gland diseases, tuberculosis, malnutrition & psoriasis, Taking oral medications made from vitamin A can also be a cause.