What's the history behind pumpkin day?

Pumpkin Day is celebrated on October 26th of each year. While the origins of Pumpkin day are not clear, association with Halloween can be traced back to England starting in the 1800s. The term “jack-o’-lantern” first appeared in 1837, and carved pumpkin, specifically, originated in 1866.