Why do they cut yorkies tails?

The main reason that Yorkie tails are docked are for aesthetic purposes. The natural tail is long and sticks up beyond the height of the head. A docked Yorkie has a tail that sticks straight up below the level of the head, which creates clean lines when the hair is worn at show length.