What's the definition of denotes?

'Denotes' is a form of the verb 'denote', which is usually defined as: a mark or sign of; Synonym: to indicate. Example: "An asterisk in a text denotes the presence of a footnote." For more, ask me to give you more definitions for 'denote'.