Who sang tainted love?

"Tainted Love" is a song composed by Ed Cobb, formerly of American group the Four Preps, which was originally recorded by Gloria Jones in 1964.It attained worldwide fame after being covered &reworked by English synth-pop duo Soft Cell in 1981 and has since been covered by numerous groups and artists