What is a wig w. h. i. g.?

The Whig Party was a political party active in the middle of the 19th century in the United States. Four presidents were affiliated with the Whig Party for part of their respective terms. Other influential party leaders include Henry Clay, Daniel Webster, William Seward, and John Quincy Adams.