Why is the north star the brightest star?

The North Star is actually the 48th brightest in the sky. Only visible from the northern hemisphere, the North Star sits directly above the North Pole. It's also called Polaris. What makes stars seem bright is the nearness to our solar system and the magnitude or strength of the star.