How old are credit cards?

The credit card was described in the novel, Looking Backward, in 1887 in which the term credit card was used eleven times. Store-specific cards date to 1928 with the development of the Charga-Plate system. General purpose cards appeared in 1950 with Diners Club, and then American Express in 1958.