How did john denver's plane crash?

John Denver fatally crashed his aircraft because his attention during flight was diverted in an attempt to switch fuel tanks. The fuel selector valve on the plane he was flying was behind the pilot's left shoulder, forcing him to turn in his seat to locate the handle.

---

while reaching for a hard to find fuel selector knob, he accidentally pressed the right rudder resulting in loss of aircraft control.