What happened to actor ron silver?

Actor Ron Silver passed away on March 15, 2009. Ron Silver portrayed attorney Alan Dershowitz in the 1990 film Reversal of Fortune. I enjoyed his performances in the films Blue Steel, Silkwood, and Enemies, A Love Story.