What's the definition of an amicus brief?

An amicus brief, or an amicus curiae brief, is written argument filed, with court permission, by a person or organization that isn't a party to a case, but has a strong interest in the matter. Often called a friend of the court brief, the non-party files the brief with a hope to persuade the court.