How much heavier is muscle than fat?

Since it is denser, muscle weighs more than fat if you compare same-size portions. On average, the density of fat is 0.9 gmL. The density of muscle is 1.1 gmL. Using the averages, 1 liter of muscle weighs 1.06 kg, or 2.3 lbs., while 1 liter of fat weighs .9 kg, or 1.98 lbs.

---

The density of muscle is approximately 1.1 grams per liter, whereas that of fat is 0.9 grams per liter, meaning that muscle is approximately 20 percent heavier than fat.