Can i substitute cornmeal for corn starch?

Cornstarch can be applied to wet items, drying them off so that batter will stick. This is commonly done for deep-fat frying. When a recipe uses cornstarch in this way, you can often substitute flour or cornmeal. Cornstarch may be added to powdered sugar to prevent clumping.