What is a wrist rocket?

A "Wrist Rocket" was a brand name for a type of sling shot. The handle of the sling shot was a formed metal tube that fit around a person's forearm which was a much more stable way to hold the sling shot during use. If used with metal shot considerable damage and/or injury could be inflicted.