How many orphanages are there in the united states?

While orphanage adoption is a thing of the past in the United States, hopeful parents who want to adopt a child from an orphanage may be able to do so in international adoption. Worldwide, there are an estimated 18 million orphans currently living in orphanages or on the streets.