How fast is light?

The speed of light in a vacuum is 186,282 miles per second (299,792 kilometers per second), and in theory nothing can travel faster than light. In miles per hour, light speed is, well, a lot: about 670,616,629 mph...

---

Light travels 671 million miles or 1.08 billion kilometres in one hour. Commonly, the speed of light is also represented as 3.8 meters per second.

---

The speed of light in a vacuum is 186,282 miles per second, and in theory nothing can travel faster than light. In miles per hour, light speed is about 670,616,629 mph. If you could travel at the speed of light, you could go around the Earth 7.5 times in one second.