Did mike tyson bite off somebody's ear?

During a Las Vegas match, Tyson bit off, and spit out, a piece of Evander Holyfield's ear. The fight was stopped when Tyson bit him again! He paid a $3 millon fine & lost his license to fight in Nevada (it was later reinstated). Holyfield became the heavyweight champ months later.