What came first the color or the fruit?

In the case of orange, the tree was named first. The word comes from Sanskrit nāranja meaning orange tree. Old French developed pomme d’orenge, or “fruit of the orange tree”, and finally just “orenge”. The word was not used for the color until 200 years later.