What happens when hermit crabs fight?

Hermit crabs rap aggressively on each other's shells, relentlessly beating on each other until one admits defeat and is ousted from its shell for good. If your crabs are fighting, separate the aggressive one & put it into a tank with lots of different sized shells to pick from.