What's the difference between zucchini and squash?

Difference is primarily color-zucchini is green but they taste very much alike. Both are a summer squash (versus winter squash like butternut & acorn squash), though many people also use the term 'summer squash' as the name for yellow and/or crook neck squash.

---

Zucchini is a specific type of squash. All zucchini are squash, but not all squash is zucchini.