What was the first anime ever made?

The first known anime, or Japanese animation, Katsudo Shashin, was made sometime between 1907 and 1911. The first anime released in theaters was "Bumpy new picture book, failure of a great plan" in 1917. The first full length anime movie was "Momotaro: Sacred Sailors" in 1945.