Why is the pantry called a pantry?

The word "pantry" can be traced to the Early 14th century, where a panterie or pantre was a storeroom or closet for bread. This stems from the Latin word panis, or "bread". However, as English evolved, the word pantry lost its connection to the word bread, and is now used simply for any closet.