How long should i steep a tea bag?

Whole leaf teas take a notably longer time to reach their optimum flavor. A general rule of thumb is 4 to 5 minutes for herbal tea and black tea and 3 to 4 minutes for white tea and green tea, which can become bitter if over-steeped.