What makes up a phosphate?

According to Biologydictionary.net, phosphate is a chemical compound made up of one phosphorus and four oxygen atoms. When attached to a molecule containing carbon, it is called a phosphate group. It is found in DNA and RNA. and in molecules adenosine triphosphate that provide energy to cells.