Who is the sticks ferryman?

Charon (Kharon) was the ferryman of Hades. Those who passed away would have to cross the rivers Styx and Acheron to reach the underworld, and Charon would take them on this journey. His fee for carrying the dead across the rivers to the underworld was a single coin, usually an obolus or danake.