Are fiddler crabs nocturnal?

Fiddlers are very active during diurnal low tides. They are constantly busy waving, fighting, mating, feeding or cleaning up around their burrows. Because they occur in such high numbers, data collection is extremely simple. They are easy to watch, either with binoculars or even just by eye.