When was the urinal invented?

The urinal in much the same design as we know it today was patented on March 27, 1866 by Andrew Rankin. Although Rankin is officially credited as the inventor of the urinal, it is most likely he based his design on similar devices that had been used for a long time before he patented the urinal.