What is elton john's song tiny dancer about?

Bernie Taupin, who wrote the lyrics for Elton John's "Tiny Dancer", says he was trying to capture the spirit of California in the fall of 1970, encapsulated by the women he met, especially at the clothes stores and restaurants and bars all up and down the Sunset Strip.