What is a substitute for vinegar?

If you need a vinegar substitute for cooking, use lemon juice. In this case, use double the amount of vinegar required. If the recipe calls for a tablespoon of vinegar, replace it with two tablespoons of lemon juice. In some cases, white wine is also used in the same ratio.