Who invented the game bridge?

The game of bridge dates back to the early 16th century and there is no record of an actual inventor. It wasn't until 1742 that the first book devoted to the game, known back then as whist, appeared, titled Short Treatise On Whist, which was written by Edmond Hoyle.