What is an arbitration hearing?

Arbitration is a way to resolve disputes outside of court. No jury or judge is present in an arbitration proceeding; rather, there is an arbitrator who is present who makes the final decision, which is called the arbitration award. The award is legally binding on all parties of the hearing.