What is the war in vinland saga?

Upon witnessing his father's death, Thorfinn vows revenge on Askeladd and "joins" Askeladd's band in hopes for an honorable duel to the death. However, Askeladd and Thorfinn find themselves in a war between Denmark and England, with a dangerous foe hunting them down and a royal prince to protect.