Is it good to use q-tips?

Q-tips or cotton swabs, are commonly used as a quick way to remove wax from the ear. They are easy to use and convenient; but the truth is, they can actually cause more harm than good. Q-tips can push wax further into the ear canal, which can cause impaction, discomfort, or a rupture in the ear drum