What is rat nip?

RAT-NIP is a genuine rat confection, rats love it just the way cats love CAT-NIP. Not a rat can resist it.” –from an ad in the Journal of The Jamaica Agricultural Society, 1911. In 1908 The Futon Chemical Company registered the trademark for RATNIP on the left.