How did houdini the magician die?

Harry Houdini died of peritonitis, caused by a ruptured appendix, on October 31 1926. Some people believe the appendicitis was caused by his being punched in the abdomen nine days earlier by a college student who thought Houdini was ready to withstand the punches.