Are grapes in the berry family?

Yes. By the formal botanical definition, grapes are considered berries since the official definition of a berry is a fleshy fruit without a stone. Berries can contain one or many seeds, and since the “seed” in the center of grapes is not technically a stone, it is classified as a berry.