How many gallons of water does a shower use?

The average American shower uses 17.2 gallons and lasts for 8.2 minutes at average flow rate of 2.1 gallons per minute.

---

In an average home, showers are typically the third largest water use after toilets and clothes washers. The average American shower uses 17.2 gallons (65.1 liters) and lasts for 8.2 minutes at average flow rate of 2.1 gallons per minute (7.9 liters per minute).

---

A regular shower head uses 7 to 10 gallons a minute, while a water-saving shower head puts out 2 to 4 gallons a minute. An average shower lasts 12 to 15 minutes, resulting in a use of up to 150 gallons per shower.