What is koji rice?

Koji rice is cooked rice that has been inoculated with Aspergillus oryzae, a mold that’s widespread in Japan. The mold releases enzymes that ferments the rice by decomposing its carbs and proteins. It can be used as a starter for fermented Japanese foods including mirin, sakee, soy sauce, and miso.