How many birds are there in the universe?

This is difficult to answer as the global bird populations constantly fluctuate. In 1997 a paper published in Biodiversity & Conservation journal estimated the global bird population was between 200 and 400 billion. The observed numbers of many individual taxa have changed significantly since then.